TechTalkz.com Logo

Go Back   TechTalkz.com Technology & Computer Troubleshooting Forums > Tech Support Archives > Telecom

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-11-2007, 02:00 PM   #11
Andy Pandy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: (Yet another) scam..?


"Ivor Jones" <ivor@despammed.invalid> wrote in message
news:5gcdfkF3enlmuU1@mid.individual.net...
> > Just a thick scammer who forgot the link, or maybe it was
> > stripped out by your ISP as a known phishing URL?

>
> Why would they strip out the link and not the whole message..? My

ISP (I
> think it's Orange today, it was Wanadoo/Freeserve) has a pretty good

spam
> filter, I clear out at least 50 or so a day. But they missed this

one.

Dunno. Maybe it's in case someone did with it what you did with it in
your OP. Ie forwarded it onto a friend/relative by email saying "I
got this message, do you think it's a scam" maybe followed by "BTW how
are the kids waffle blah.... ". They wouldn't want to drop that whole
message, just the URL.

--
Andy


  Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2007, 02:00 PM   #12
Lurch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Re: (Yet another) scam..?

On Sat, 21 Jul 2007 11:39:26 +0100, "Andy Pandy"
<spam8times@wonderful.spam.invalid> mused:

>
>"Ivor Jones" <ivor@despammed.invalid> wrote in message
>news:5gcdfkF3enlmuU1@mid.individual.net...
>> > Just a thick scammer who forgot the link, or maybe it was
>> > stripped out by your ISP as a known phishing URL?

>>
>> Why would they strip out the link and not the whole message..? My

>ISP (I
>> think it's Orange today, it was Wanadoo/Freeserve) has a pretty good

>spam
>> filter, I clear out at least 50 or so a day. But they missed this

>one.
>
>Dunno. Maybe it's in case someone did with it what you did with it in
>your OP. Ie forwarded it onto a friend/relative by email saying "I
>got this message, do you think it's a scam" maybe followed by "BTW how
>are the kids waffle blah.... ". They wouldn't want to drop that whole
>message, just the URL.


Which ISP's scan contents of the mail rather than the header?
--
Regards,
Stuart.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2007, 02:00 PM   #13
Andy Pandy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Re: (Yet another) scam..?


"Lurch" <myrealname@sjwelectrical.co.uk> wrote in message
news:6ro3a35s4sp6mqvb5bn0lftteignqivt17@4ax.com...
> On Sat, 21 Jul 2007 11:39:26 +0100, "Andy Pandy"
> <spam8times@wonderful.spam.invalid> mused:
>
> >
> >"Ivor Jones" <ivor@despammed.invalid> wrote in message
> >news:5gcdfkF3enlmuU1@mid.individual.net...
> >> > Just a thick scammer who forgot the link, or maybe it was
> >> > stripped out by your ISP as a known phishing URL?
> >>
> >> Why would they strip out the link and not the whole message..? My

> >ISP (I
> >> think it's Orange today, it was Wanadoo/Freeserve) has a pretty

good
> >spam
> >> filter, I clear out at least 50 or so a day. But they missed this

> >one.
> >
> >Dunno. Maybe it's in case someone did with it what you did with it

in
> >your OP. Ie forwarded it onto a friend/relative by email saying "I
> >got this message, do you think it's a scam" maybe followed by "BTW

how
> >are the kids waffle blah.... ". They wouldn't want to drop that

whole
> >message, just the URL.

>
> Which ISP's scan contents of the mail rather than the header?


Dunno. It was just a theory.

--
Andy



  Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2007, 02:01 PM   #14
stefanocg@gmail.com
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: (Yet another) scam..?

On Jul 20, 3:17 am, "Ivor Jones" <i...@despammed.invalid> wrote:
> I suspect it is, but just wondered if anyone else has received this.
>
> Just had an email purporting to be from Citibank UK, telling me that my
> card payment is overdue and that I owe them money. This is all very well,
> but I don't have an account with them..! The 0800 number they give returns
> NU tone.
>
> Anyone else seen it..? The message follows:
>
> ******This message is for CitiBank United Kingdom customers
> only***********
>
> Your Citibank Card balance is currently overdue and we require an
> immediate payment of ?43.97.
>
> What to do next
>
> Go to your Citibank account account, select the 'Move money' tab and
> choose the 'Make a one-off payment' option, and then follow the on-screen
> instructions. If you're having trouble finding the money to make your
> payment, you can talk to us about alternative options or help with getting
> on top of your finances on 0800-00-55-00 (If calling from abroad dial +44
> 20 7500 5500).
>
> As soon as possible, please access your online account following the link
> below: [no link given..!]
>
> Check your online account
>
> If you've already spoken to us or you've put your account in order, please
> ignore this communication.
>
> Yvonne Smith
> CitiBank United Kingdom
> Card payments Dept
> 0800-00-55-00
> Citibank International Plc
>
> --
> Ivor


Hey, got the same email also same amount due....scam i guess!

  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Google
 


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:21 AM.


vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO
Copyright © 2005-2008, TechTalkz.com. All Rights Reserved - Privacy Policy
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional