![]() |
|
|
#11 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: (Yet another) scam..?
"Ivor Jones" <ivor@despammed.invalid> wrote in message news:5gcdfkF3enlmuU1@mid.individual.net... > > Just a thick scammer who forgot the link, or maybe it was > > stripped out by your ISP as a known phishing URL? > > Why would they strip out the link and not the whole message..? My ISP (I > think it's Orange today, it was Wanadoo/Freeserve) has a pretty good spam > filter, I clear out at least 50 or so a day. But they missed this one. Dunno. Maybe it's in case someone did with it what you did with it in your OP. Ie forwarded it onto a friend/relative by email saying "I got this message, do you think it's a scam" maybe followed by "BTW how are the kids waffle blah.... ". They wouldn't want to drop that whole message, just the URL. -- Andy |
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: Re: (Yet another) scam..?
On Sat, 21 Jul 2007 11:39:26 +0100, "Andy Pandy"
<spam8times@wonderful.spam.invalid> mused: > >"Ivor Jones" <ivor@despammed.invalid> wrote in message >news:5gcdfkF3enlmuU1@mid.individual.net... >> > Just a thick scammer who forgot the link, or maybe it was >> > stripped out by your ISP as a known phishing URL? >> >> Why would they strip out the link and not the whole message..? My >ISP (I >> think it's Orange today, it was Wanadoo/Freeserve) has a pretty good >spam >> filter, I clear out at least 50 or so a day. But they missed this >one. > >Dunno. Maybe it's in case someone did with it what you did with it in >your OP. Ie forwarded it onto a friend/relative by email saying "I >got this message, do you think it's a scam" maybe followed by "BTW how >are the kids waffle blah.... ". They wouldn't want to drop that whole >message, just the URL. Which ISP's scan contents of the mail rather than the header? -- Regards, Stuart. |
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: Re: (Yet another) scam..?
"Lurch" <myrealname@sjwelectrical.co.uk> wrote in message news:6ro3a35s4sp6mqvb5bn0lftteignqivt17@4ax.com... > On Sat, 21 Jul 2007 11:39:26 +0100, "Andy Pandy" > <spam8times@wonderful.spam.invalid> mused: > > > > >"Ivor Jones" <ivor@despammed.invalid> wrote in message > >news:5gcdfkF3enlmuU1@mid.individual.net... > >> > Just a thick scammer who forgot the link, or maybe it was > >> > stripped out by your ISP as a known phishing URL? > >> > >> Why would they strip out the link and not the whole message..? My > >ISP (I > >> think it's Orange today, it was Wanadoo/Freeserve) has a pretty good > >spam > >> filter, I clear out at least 50 or so a day. But they missed this > >one. > > > >Dunno. Maybe it's in case someone did with it what you did with it in > >your OP. Ie forwarded it onto a friend/relative by email saying "I > >got this message, do you think it's a scam" maybe followed by "BTW how > >are the kids waffle blah.... ". They wouldn't want to drop that whole > >message, just the URL. > > Which ISP's scan contents of the mail rather than the header? Dunno. It was just a theory. -- Andy |
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: (Yet another) scam..?
On Jul 20, 3:17 am, "Ivor Jones" <i...@despammed.invalid> wrote:
> I suspect it is, but just wondered if anyone else has received this. > > Just had an email purporting to be from Citibank UK, telling me that my > card payment is overdue and that I owe them money. This is all very well, > but I don't have an account with them..! The 0800 number they give returns > NU tone. > > Anyone else seen it..? The message follows: > > ******This message is for CitiBank United Kingdom customers > only*********** > > Your Citibank Card balance is currently overdue and we require an > immediate payment of ?43.97. > > What to do next > > Go to your Citibank account account, select the 'Move money' tab and > choose the 'Make a one-off payment' option, and then follow the on-screen > instructions. If you're having trouble finding the money to make your > payment, you can talk to us about alternative options or help with getting > on top of your finances on 0800-00-55-00 (If calling from abroad dial +44 > 20 7500 5500). > > As soon as possible, please access your online account following the link > below: [no link given..!] > > Check your online account > > If you've already spoken to us or you've put your account in order, please > ignore this communication. > > Yvonne Smith > CitiBank United Kingdom > Card payments Dept > 0800-00-55-00 > Citibank International Plc > > -- > Ivor Hey, got the same email also same amount due....scam i guess! |
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|