![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
(Yet another) scam..?
I suspect it is, but just wondered if anyone else has received this.
Just had an email purporting to be from Citibank UK, telling me that my card payment is overdue and that I owe them money. This is all very well, but I don't have an account with them..! The 0800 number they give returns NU tone. Anyone else seen it..? The message follows: ******This message is for CitiBank United Kingdom customers only*********** Your Citibank Card balance is currently overdue and we require an immediate payment of ?43.97. What to do next Go to your Citibank account account, select the 'Move money' tab and choose the 'Make a one-off payment' option, and then follow the on-screen instructions. If you're having trouble finding the money to make your payment, you can talk to us about alternative options or help with getting on top of your finances on 0800-00-55-00 (If calling from abroad dial +44 20 7500 5500). As soon as possible, please access your online account following the link below: [no link given..!] Check your online account If you've already spoken to us or you've put your account in order, please ignore this communication. Yvonne Smith CitiBank United Kingdom Card payments Dept 0800-00-55-00 Citibank International Plc -- Ivor |
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: (Yet another) scam..?
By now I got emails 'from' most if not all UK banks, plus some from ones I
never heard of ! I no longer bother reporting them just delete them. Regards, Martin |
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: (Yet another) scam..?
On Fri, 20 Jul 2007 03:17:14 +0100, "Ivor Jones"
<ivor@despammed.invalid> wrote: >I suspect it is, but just wondered if anyone else has received this. Daily, and for a large number of banks. It's called Phishing. The law of averages means they will hit some people that have accounts at the bank and are gullible enough to follow the link and enter the information, which will include PIN and card CV numbers. Guess what then happens! The Delete key is your friend. Jim |
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: (Yet another) scam..?
In article <5gak9fF3fk6cvU1@mid.individual.net>, Ivor Jones
<ivor@despammed.invalid> writes >I suspect it is, but just wondered if anyone else has received this. > >Just had an email purporting to be from Citibank UK, telling me that my >card payment is overdue and that I owe them money. This is all very well, >but I don't have an account with them..! The 0800 number they give returns >NU tone. > >Anyone else seen it..? The message follows: > >******This message is for CitiBank United Kingdom customers >only*********** > >Your Citibank Card balance is currently overdue and we require an >immediate payment of ?43.97. > >What to do next > >Go to your Citibank account account, select the 'Move money' tab and >choose the 'Make a one-off payment' option, and then follow the on-screen >instructions. If you're having trouble finding the money to make your >payment, you can talk to us about alternative options or help with getting >on top of your finances on 0800-00-55-00 (If calling from abroad dial +44 >20 7500 5500). > >As soon as possible, please access your online account following the link >below: [no link given..!] > >Check your online account > >If you've already spoken to us or you've put your account in order, please >ignore this communication. > >Yvonne Smith >CitiBank United Kingdom >Card payments Dept >0800-00-55-00 >Citibank International Plc > What they call a Philshing scam I believe.. get them all the time and the ones from some kind gent in Nigeria who wants me to share in his nice £14 million he's somehow obtained from some bank account where someone has passed away and forgotten about all the money they had.. -- Tony Sayer |
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: (Yet another) scam..?
>>
>>As soon as possible, please access your online account following the link >>below: [no link given..!] >> >>Check your online account >> >>If you've already spoken to us or you've put your account in order, please >>ignore this communication. >> >>Yvonne Smith >>CitiBank United Kingdom >>Card payments Dept >>0800-00-55-00 >>Citibank International Plc >> > >What they call a Philshing scam I believe.. get them all the time and >the ones from some kind gent in Nigeria who wants me to share in his >nice £14 million he's somehow obtained from some bank account where >someone has passed away and forgotten about all the money they had.. And no sooner that I posted the reply and one came along!!! And here it is..complete with grammar and spulling mistakes.... ************************************************** *************** Good Day, This mail might come to you as a surprise and the temptation to ignore it as serious could come into your mind but please consider it a divine wish and accept it with a deep sense of humility. My name is Mr.Chen Minyong, an external auditor for the United Overseas Bank,Singapore,working as part of a bigger team that covers the entire Asian region. An investor died without naming a next of kin to his fund in my bank.The amount is $15.7M and banking regulation/legislation in Singapore demand that i notify the fiscal authorities after three years.The above set of facts underscores my reason to seek your permission to have you stand as the next of kin to the deceased investor.This funds will be approve and release in your favour as the next of kin if only you will adhere to my instruction and cooperate with me in one accord. I have all the legal and Banking details of my deceased client that will facilitate our putting you forward as the claimant/beneficiary of the funds and ultimately transfer of the $15.7M plus interest to any bank account nominated by you.I am prepared to compensate you with a 20% share of the total funds for your efforts.The final details will be given upon receipt an affirmation of your desire to participate. Please contact me through my email address as time is of the essence in this business.Also endeavor to forward the under listed details below to my email address. I wait in anticipation of your fullest co-operation. Full Name Date Of Birth Occupation Telephone Number Fax Number Email Address Postal Address Thank you, Mr. Chen Minyong -- Tony Sayer |
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: (Yet another) scam..?
"tony sayer" <tony@bancom.co.uk> wrote in message
news:8I58cNE$AHoGFwUH@bancom.co.uk [snip] > > What they call a Philshing scam I believe.. get them > > all the time and the ones from some kind gent in > > Nigeria who wants me to share in his nice £14 million > > he's somehow obtained from some bank account where > > someone has passed away and forgotten about all the > > money they had.. > > And no sooner that I posted the reply and one came > along!!! Oh I get those all the time, but this one was well written, as you can see. There was no link to follow though, which surprised me. Ivor |
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: (Yet another) scam..?
"tony sayer" <tony@bancom.co.uk> wrote in message
news:8I58cNE$AHoGFwUH@bancom.co.uk... > Good Day, > > This mail might come to you as a surprise and the temptation to ignore > it > as serious could come into your mind but please consider it a divine > wish > and accept it with a deep sense of humility. Keep your hands off. That's MY money. I got the email before you. I'm so lucky I won 3 seperate lotteries without even entering. £13 million in total and all I need to do is to pay the handling fees. Andt |
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: (Yet another) scam..?
On Jul 20, 3:17?am, "Ivor Jones" <i...@despammed.invalid> wrote:
> I suspect it is, but just wondered if anyone else has received this. As others said it must be a phishing attack. I get emails daily proporting to be from Nationwide, Royal Bank of Scotland and a bank in America... I just delete them now. |
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: (Yet another) scam..?
"Ivor Jones" <ivor@despammed.invalid> wrote in message news:5gbc7gF3dk7i1U1@mid.individual.net... > > > What they call a Philshing scam I believe.. get them > > > all the time and the ones from some kind gent in > > > Nigeria who wants me to share in his nice £14 million > > > he's somehow obtained from some bank account where > > > someone has passed away and forgotten about all the > > > money they had.. > > > > And no sooner that I posted the reply and one came > > along!!! > > Oh I get those all the time, but this one was well written, as you can > see. There was no link to follow though, which surprised me. Just a thick scammer who forgot the link, or maybe it was stripped out by your ISP as a known phishing URL? -- Andy |
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: (Yet another) scam..?
"Andy Pandy" <spam8times@wonderful.spam.invalid> wrote in message news:5gbmsfF3eijtcU1@mid.individual.net > "Ivor Jones" <ivor@despammed.invalid> wrote in message > news:5gbc7gF3dk7i1U1@mid.individual.net... > > > > What they call a Philshing scam I believe.. get them > > > > all the time and the ones from some kind gent in > > > > Nigeria who wants me to share in his nice £14 > > > > million he's somehow obtained from some bank > > > > account where someone has passed away and forgotten > > > > about all the money they had.. > > > > > > And no sooner that I posted the reply and one came > > > along!!! > > > > Oh I get those all the time, but this one was well > > written, as you can see. There was no link to follow > > though, which surprised me. > > Just a thick scammer who forgot the link, or maybe it was > stripped out by your ISP as a known phishing URL? Why would they strip out the link and not the whole message..? My ISP (I think it's Orange today, it was Wanadoo/Freeserve) has a pretty good spam filter, I clear out at least 50 or so a day. But they missed this one. Ivor |
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|