![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Inbound premium rate scam - is this possible?
Hi all,
Just been speaking to a friend who claims to have received a call saying "This is your bank, please press 1 to continue" or something similar. They believe it to be a scam, whereupon pressing 1 they will be charged at premium rates for the rest of the call (even though it was inbound). Is this technically possible, or is it a hoax? Thanks! |
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: Inbound premium rate scam - is this possible?
[John McGarrigle], on Mon, 19 Nov 2007 12:10:26 -0800 (PST), said :-
>Hi all, > >Just been speaking to a friend who claims to have received a call >saying "This is your bank, please press 1 to continue" or something >similar. They believe it to be a scam, whereupon pressing 1 they will >be charged at premium rates for the rest of the call (even though it >was inbound). > >Is this technically possible, or is it a hoax? Your friend is a fool to even belove this. Where did he/she get the information from that they would be charged 'premium rates' ? |
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: Inbound premium rate scam - is this possible?
On 19 Nov, 20:38, Spin Dryer <m...@privacy.net> wrote:
> Your friend is a fool to even belove this. > > Where did he/she get the information from that they would be charged > 'premium rates' ? Thought so.. started doubting myself as was surrounded by other insisting it was possible! It's a popular myth I think. |
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: Inbound premium rate scam - is this possible?
"John McGarrigle" <john@no.domain.name> wrote in message news:fb91d42c-61b9-4144-80d1-6c3c918cba1a@w34g2000hsg.googlegroups.com... > Hi all, > > Just been speaking to a friend who claims to have received a call > saying "This is your bank, please press 1 to continue" or something > similar. They believe it to be a scam, whereupon pressing 1 they will > be charged at premium rates for the rest of the call (even though it > was inbound). > Some autodialers (i.e. the systems used by telemarketeers) use this to check the phone has been picked up by a real person not an answerphone and so it can be passed to a "Sales Droid". They used to use "9" as the digit but proibably stopped becuase of rumours its a scam. I know soemone on the group used to have a "9" tone on his answer phone... > Is this technically possible, or is it a hoax? > A hoax > Thanks! |
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: Inbound premium rate scam - is this possible?
John McGarrigle <john@no.domain.name> wrote:
> Just been speaking to a friend who claims to have received a call > saying "This is your bank, please press 1 to continue" or something > similar. They believe it to be a scam, whereupon pressing 1 they will > be charged at premium rates for the rest of the call (even though it > was inbound). Sigh. PLEASE read the archives for this group. You've used google to post. You can also use it to search, too! Chris |
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: Inbound premium rate scam - is this possible?
On Mon, 19 Nov 2007 12:10:26 -0800 (PST), John McGarrigle wrote:
> Just been speaking to a friend who claims to have received a call > saying "This is your bank, please press 1 to continue" or something > similar. They believe it to be a scam, whereupon pressing 1 they will > be charged at premium rates for the rest of the call (even though it > was inbound). I had this to my mobile the other week - they claimed to be calling from someone I do have an account with, but I dropped the call since I wasn't expecting a call from them. It turned out that they wanted to verify that some transactions on my card that had been made that day were genuine, and nothing sinister. -- :: Regards, Andy Davidson blog www.andyd.net :: http://www.localphone.com/ - Call Global, Pay Local :: /* opinions and thoughts expressed here are my own */ |
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: Inbound premium rate scam - is this possible?
Andy Davidson wrote:
> On Mon, 19 Nov 2007 12:10:26 -0800 (PST), John McGarrigle wrote: >> Just been speaking to a friend who claims to have received a call >> saying "This is your bank, please press 1 to continue" or something >> similar. They believe it to be a scam, whereupon pressing 1 they will >> be charged at premium rates for the rest of the call (even though it >> was inbound). > > I had this to my mobile the other week - they claimed to be calling from > someone I do have an account with, but I dropped the call since I wasn't > expecting a call from them. > > It turned out that they wanted to verify that some transactions on my > card that had been made that day were genuine, and nothing sinister. Interesting. I suppose it hadn't occurred to them that whoever may have nicked your card might have nicked your phone also? -- <http://ale.cx/> (AIM:troffasky) (UnSoEsNpEaTm@ale.cx) 15:37:24 up 11 days, 4:15, 2 users, load average: 0.23, 0.38, 0.37 50,000 watts of funking power |
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: Inbound premium rate scam - is this possible?
"alexd" <troffasky@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:3622606.REIFHNK2BH@ale.cx... > Andy Davidson wrote: > > > On Mon, 19 Nov 2007 12:10:26 -0800 (PST), John McGarrigle wrote: > >> Just been speaking to a friend who claims to have received a call > >> saying "This is your bank, please press 1 to continue" or something > >> similar. They believe it to be a scam, whereupon pressing 1 they will > >> be charged at premium rates for the rest of the call (even though it > >> was inbound). > > > > I had this to my mobile the other week - they claimed to be calling from > > someone I do have an account with, but I dropped the call since I wasn't > > expecting a call from them. > > > > It turned out that they wanted to verify that some transactions on my > > card that had been made that day were genuine, and nothing sinister. > > Interesting. I suppose it hadn't occurred to them that whoever may have > nicked your card might have nicked your phone also? and when they get through do they still ask you to verify who you are by giving them some personal data? and then get very upset when you ask them to verify who they are? ask for a reference code that you can use when you ring back on the published number. > > -- > <http://ale.cx/> (AIM:troffasky) (UnSoEsNpEaTm@ale.cx) > 15:37:24 up 11 days, 4:15, 2 users, load average: 0.23, 0.38, 0.37 > 50,000 watts of funking power > -- Regards stephen_hope@xyzworld.com - replace xyz with ntl |
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|