TechTalkz.com Logo Ask the Experts!

Go Back   TechTalkz.com Technology & Computer Troubleshooting Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Windows 7 64-bit Nvidia Display Driver

Windows 7

Unread 25-10-2009, 02:32 AM   #1

Windows 7

Windows 7 64-bit Nvidia Display Driver

Hi,

I'm new to TechTalkz, and I hope I can find some help here. I recently switched from Vista 32-bit to Windows 7 64-bit on my laptop, and so far run into only one major problem.

About every 5-10 minutes now, the computer freezes for about 5 seconds and the screen flashes, after which I receive a notification:

"Display Driver Nvidia Windows Kernel Mode Driver, Version 186.81 stopped responding and has successfully recovered."

Very irritating. So far to fix it, I've gotten the most recent display driver for my card (GeForce 9650M GT). I uninstalled the previous driver, restarted, installed the new one, restarted, no go.

Some tips I've found are to update your BIOS and motherboard drivers, as they may cause the problem -- which leads to one of my questions: Asus only has drivers for Vista 64-bit, not Win7. Should I install those anyway?

I also have some flashing pixels in Windows, which is probably related, but is only irritating.

Funnily enough, running games is no problem. I ran Crysis for hours yesterday and today, and it crashed only once (it was my fault anyway).

Thanks for reading and for any advice you can provide.
Natter91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 25-10-2009, 05:31 PM   #2

Windows 7

Re: Windows 7 64-bit Nvidia Display Driver

I decided to go ahead with the Vista 64-bit drivers, and I've updated the BIOS and chipset drivers -- no good, the error still comes up occasionally. I'm at a loss for what to do next.
Unread 25-10-2009, 07:26 PM   #3
Senior Member (500+)

Windows 7 Linux

any way of seeing details of the crash? if its completely locked away cause of closed source it will be hard finding out the issue
Unread 26-10-2009, 11:05 AM   #4

Windows 7

Quote: