TechTalkz.com Logo Ask the Experts!

Go Back   TechTalkz.com Technology & Computer Troubleshooting Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Software Issues

Windows 7

Unread 13-12-2016, 12:45 PM   #1

Intel

Windows 10

Software Issues

I am having an issue with a program we use to certify students in microsoft office,called console 8. It is made by a company called certiport. I should let you all know that I am a tech support for a NJ high school. Anyway, this program will occasionally put out updates every few weeks and I usually apply then as soon as they are put out. Here is the problem..... After a few days, out of nowhere, The teacher will email me and tell me that the updates that I put through (60 computers) were all gone and the software has now reverted back to the version it was on previously. After many emails to the company and a few remote sessions, they were able to figure out through my windows event log that system restore was the culprit. Great, I thought, Ill just disable it and we should be good to go, Well, I did that in both labs (there are 2 labs, both have the exact same hardware and software..Windows 7, Office 2013) For some reason ,the first lab is running great.Any updates I install ,stay installed. The second lab which also has system restore disabled STILL reverts the updates back for some reason. I have looked through the windows logs and cant figure it out. One thing I forgot to mention is that we are using Microsoft Systems Center (SCCM) 2012. As far as I can tell, it doesnt seem to be causing the problem. Does anybody have any ideas as to why this software is getting reverted back every time an update is put through? It seems as only console 8 is effected.
Thanks
John

Sponsored Links
jamccor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 13-12-2016, 06:26 PM   #2
Webmaster

Mood: Busy