![]() |
|
|
|
#1 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
filtrodetrojan.com
What is this, I found it in my registry, is it a trojan? What this one too:
Filtret****? -- Retired Boeing Bill |
|
|
#2 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: filtrodetrojan.com
Retired Bill wrote:
> What is this, I found it in my registry, is it a trojan? What this one too: > Filtret****? Depends on where you found it. Since you didn't tell us.... Help us help you: http://www.dts-l.org/goodpost.htm When in doubt about whether your computer is infected with viruses and/or malware, do some scanning: http://www.elephantboycomputers.com/...moving_Malware Malke -- Elephant Boy Computers www.elephantboycomputers.com "Don't Panic!" MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User |
|
|
#3 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: filtrodetrojan.com
If I were you I'd scan with a couple of anti-spyware applications a.s.a.p.
http://www.superantispyware.com/supe...freevspro.html http://free.grisoft.com/doc/20/lng/us/tpl/v5 According to Google at least one hit says it's rogue anti-spyware. -- Peter Toronto, Canada "Retired Bill" <RetiredBill@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:AA7B88F0-6260-4D4D-8C3C-2EA2A6657140@microsoft.com... > What is this, I found it in my registry, is it a trojan? What this one > too: > Filtret****? > -- > Retired Boeing Bill |
|
|
#4 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: filtrodetrojan.com
I searched my registry for "trojan because Spyware Doctor found one named
trojan.2nd-thought_com and I thought it might not be correct since I have a brand new machine. I was looking fo multiple instances of it using "Find". There is no website called "filtrodetrojan.com". Could this be a legitimate Windows registry entry? Retired Boeing Bill "Malke" wrote: > Retired Bill wrote: > > What is this, I found it in my registry, is it a trojan? What this one too: > > Filtret****? > > Depends on where you found it. Since you didn't tell us.... > > Help us help you: > > http://www.dts-l.org/goodpost.htm > > When in doubt about whether your computer is infected with viruses > and/or malware, do some scanning: > > http://www.elephantboycomputers.com/...moving_Malware > > > Malke > -- > Elephant Boy Computers > www.elephantboycomputers.com > "Don't Panic!" > MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User > |
|
|
#5 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: filtrodetrojan.com
Use Google - http://filtrodetrojan.com/
Another finding says it's rogue anti-spyware as I already posted. -- Peter Toronto, Canada "Retired Bill" <RetiredBill@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:8E935AC1-32CB-4650-9E49-66B0273DCA41@microsoft.com... >I searched my registry for "trojan because Spyware Doctor found one named > trojan.2nd-thought_com and I thought it might not be correct since I have > a > brand new machine. I was looking fo multiple instances of it using > "Find". > There is no website called "filtrodetrojan.com". > > Could this be a legitimate Windows registry entry? > > Retired Boeing Bill > > > "Malke" wrote: > >> Retired Bill wrote: >> > What is this, I found it in my registry, is it a trojan? What this one >> > too: >> > Filtret****? >> >> Depends on where you found it. Since you didn't tell us.... >> >> Help us help you: >> >> http://www.dts-l.org/goodpost.htm >> >> When in doubt about whether your computer is infected with viruses >> and/or malware, do some scanning: >> >> http://www.elephantboycomputers.com/...moving_Malware >> >> >> Malke >> -- >> Elephant Boy Computers >> www.elephantboycomputers.com >> "Don't Panic!" >> MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User >> |
|
|
#6 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: filtrodetrojan.com
"Retired Bill" <RetiredBill@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:8E935AC1-32CB-4650-9E49-66B0273DCA41@microsoft.com... >I searched my registry for "trojan because Spyware Doctor found one named > trojan.2nd-thought_com and I thought it might not be correct since I have > a > brand new machine. I was looking fo multiple instances of it using > "Find". > There is no website called "filtrodetrojan.com". According to both c|net, Symantec, and McAfee, this site is one of many promoting rogue anti-spyware (one called AVSystemCare). It seems to be one of them "anti spywares" that gives the visitor several false positives, as a sales pitch. Symantec says this software may even install itself without the users knowledge. Eric Howes excellent site on spyware also lists AVSystemCare: http://spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm Charlie42 |
|
|
#7 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: filtrodetrojan.com
I scaned my computer with McAfee Virus scanner and found nothing? Why diud
Spyware Doctor find it? -- Retired Boeing Bill "Charlie42" wrote: > "Retired Bill" <RetiredBill@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message > news:8E935AC1-32CB-4650-9E49-66B0273DCA41@microsoft.com... > > >I searched my registry for "trojan because Spyware Doctor found one named > > trojan.2nd-thought_com and I thought it might not be correct since I have > > a > > brand new machine. I was looking fo multiple instances of it using > > "Find". > > There is no website called "filtrodetrojan.com". > > According to both c|net, Symantec, and McAfee, this site is one of many > promoting rogue anti-spyware (one called AVSystemCare). It seems to be one > of them "anti spywares" that gives the visitor several false positives, as a > sales pitch. Symantec says this software may even install itself without the > users knowledge. > > Eric Howes excellent site on spyware also lists AVSystemCare: > http://spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm > > Charlie42 > > |
|
|
#8 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: filtrodetrojan.com
There isn't a protection software on the market that will catch everything
Bill. That's why it's a good idea to keep a few extra anti-spyware programmes on hand. -- Peter Toronto, Canada "Retired Bill" <RetiredBill@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:BD6DCE9D-93BD-45C9-AF12-45ED83729ED9@microsoft.com... >I scaned my computer with McAfee Virus scanner and found nothing? Why diud > Spyware Doctor find it? > -- > Retired Boeing Bill > > > "Charlie42" wrote: > >> "Retired Bill" <RetiredBill@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message >> news:8E935AC1-32CB-4650-9E49-66B0273DCA41@microsoft.com... >> >> >I searched my registry for "trojan because Spyware Doctor found one >> >named >> > trojan.2nd-thought_com and I thought it might not be correct since I >> > have >> > a >> > brand new machine. I was looking fo multiple instances of it using >> > "Find". >> > There is no website called "filtrodetrojan.com". >> >> According to both c|net, Symantec, and McAfee, this site is one of many >> promoting rogue anti-spyware (one called AVSystemCare). It seems to be >> one >> of them "anti spywares" that gives the visitor several false positives, >> as a >> sales pitch. Symantec says this software may even install itself without >> the >> users knowledge. >> >> Eric Howes excellent site on spyware also lists AVSystemCare: >> http://spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm >> >> Charlie42 >> >> |
|
|
#9 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: filtrodetrojan.com
I found why this is in the registry, it's in a file of known spyware/trojans
for Adaware 2007. It really works differently than it used to, storing it's stuff in the registry. Problem solved. -- Retired Boeing Bill "Peter" wrote: > There isn't a protection software on the market that will catch everything > Bill. That's why it's a good idea to keep a few extra anti-spyware > programmes on hand. > > -- > Peter > Toronto, Canada > "Retired Bill" <RetiredBill@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message > news:BD6DCE9D-93BD-45C9-AF12-45ED83729ED9@microsoft.com... > >I scaned my computer with McAfee Virus scanner and found nothing? Why diud > > Spyware Doctor find it? > > -- > > Retired Boeing Bill > > > > > > "Charlie42" wrote: > > > >> "Retired Bill" <RetiredBill@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message > >> news:8E935AC1-32CB-4650-9E49-66B0273DCA41@microsoft.com... > >> > >> >I searched my registry for "trojan because Spyware Doctor found one > >> >named > >> > trojan.2nd-thought_com and I thought it might not be correct since I > >> > have > >> > a > >> > brand new machine. I was looking fo multiple instances of it using > >> > "Find". > >> > There is no website called "filtrodetrojan.com". > >> > >> According to both c|net, Symantec, and McAfee, this site is one of many > >> promoting rogue anti-spyware (one called AVSystemCare). It seems to be > >> one > >> of them "anti spywares" that gives the visitor several false positives, > >> as a > >> sales pitch. Symantec says this software may even install itself without > >> the > >> users knowledge. > >> > >> Eric Howes excellent site on spyware also lists AVSystemCare: > >> http://spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm > >> > >> Charlie42 > >> > >> > > |
|
|
#10 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Re: filtrodetrojan.com
Retired Bill wrote:
> I scaned my computer with McAfee Virus scanner and found nothing? Why diud > Spyware Doctor find it? It "Might" be a false positive, that is almost unavoidable and not a reflection on the detection software necessarily, even the best get a wrong diagnosis at times, however McAfee is probably not the best in the world anyway - to say the least. So be careful what you delete, see if you can google the alleged trojan name before trying to delete it in case it's a useful program or a part of windows that's been picked up. |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
< Home - Windows Help - MS Office Help - Hardware Support >
| New To Site? | Need Help? |